Rural Fire Protection


To provide quality emergency services, the equipment, and manpower necessary to maintain the safety and quality of life for the residents of Miami County.

Rural Miami County fire protection is under the guidance of Miami County Commissioners. 

Fire District One

Fire District Number One consists of an area of fire suppression that encompasses the rural areas around the stations at Wellsville, Paola, Louisburg, Osawatomie, and Fontana. The district currently has a contract with the City of Linn Valley, Kansas for service to the far southeast portion of the county.

Personnel & Equipment

District One has 116 volunteer firefighters who staff and maintain 27 emergency vehicles, including seven pumper trucks, five water tankers, two pumper tankers, six mini pumpers, and seven brush/grass trucks. They respond to emergencies and provide assistance to citizens from the five stations.

Fire District Two

Fire District Number Two provides fire protection, fire prevention, and vehicular accident rescue services to residents in northern Miami County. District Two encompasses approximately 70-square-mile area and contracts with Johnson County Fire No. 1 and Overland Park Fire for services.